“Was that movie as terrible as I remember it?” Day 1: Daredevil

Daredevil (2003)

Written and Directed by Mark Steven Johnson

Starring: Ben Affleck, Jennifer Garner, Michael Clarke Duncan, Colin Firth, and Jon Favreau

I’m generally pretty easy to please when it comes to movies, especially movies based on comic book characters. I tend to enjoy even the movies that most fans call the worst, like X-Men Origins: Wolverine, or Spiderman 3, or even Superman Returns. I picked Daredevil because I remember hating it, but I couldn’t remember why.

It didn’t take long to remember. The dialogue was clunky, the villains were terribly one dimensional, the dialogue was terrible, it was bogged down by a poorly executed love story, and the dialogue was so bad that I watched the credits in the end to see if George Lucas was one of the writers. In the end, I think it felt like there was a significant portion of the movie missing. I was supposed to care about the death of a “major” character who was never developed into someone I might want to care about. I was supposed to feel satisfaction at the defeat of the two major villains, but they were never developed into characters that I had any ire for. And did I mention the dialogue? It was terrible.

I think it’s a shame because the character is pretty cool, and the villains have some potential would they have been given material to develop. On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this one a 4.

Author: Jeremy

I'm a husband, a father, and just a regular guy. There's really no particular reason you should read my thoughts, but sometimes they're interesting, often they're strange, and occasionally they're funny, so I thought I'd make a blog as an outlet for them.

One thought on ““Was that movie as terrible as I remember it?” Day 1: Daredevil”

  1. Sounds like one to miss. (Not that I really expected I’d have caught it anyway–I’m not exactly the biggest movie watcher!)

    By the way, thanks for commenting on the Berenstain Bears–yours was a perspective I’d never considered.

Leave a comment